Middleburg is a 325-year-old property located on the East Branch of the Cooper River. The Main House was completed in 1697 and still stands as the oldest home in the southeastern United States. The property features expansive outdoor amenities including live oak groves, trails, ponds, and direct access to the East Branch of the Cooper River for paddlesports or fishing. The estate is near numerous public recreational assets around coastal South Carolina.
The Commissary is a two-story building overlooking the tolling ponds located separately from the main compound. This structure was built sometime in the third quarter of the 18th century and was used to store the seed rice on the bottom floor and offer provisions for sale to the local community.
While the original adjoining Flemish Stable was destroyed by Hugo in 1989, the Commissary has survived intact and was recently renovated to offer modern conveniences. Guests enter the top floor into an expansive living room and kitchen with adjoining dining space. There are two bedrooms with each offering its own separate bathroom. The Commissary offers separate parking and is an ideal option for guests wishing to separate from the main living areas while still accessing all of Middleburg. Guests are welcome to use all outdoor common areas to the grounds of Middleburg. The property is a non-smoking facility and pets are not permitted on the premises. There is no cable or internet service. Cell service is limited on the property dependent on provider.
Air Conditioning, CO2 Detector, Coffee Maker, Fire Pit, Full Kitchen, Heat, Linens, Smoke Alarm, Towels, TV